top of page

THE AUGUST 2023 YEN PRESS RELEASES YOU WON'T WANT TO MISS

When it comes to manga, Yen Press (@YenPress) is one of our favorite publishers here at Comic Book Yeti, so receiving a preview box on my doorstep is always the highlight of the month. I received a small sampling of their upcoming August releases and what I read absolutely blew me away. Many of these titles are going to be released in the coming weeks, so make sure you add them to you TBR list and get your pre-orders in! From incredible isekai to beautiful romances to haunting new series, these are the must-read Yen Press titles you won't want to miss!


After We Gazed at the Starry Sky, vol.1 and Cuckoos Three

THE TITLES YOU CAN'T MISS

A title that was on my pre-order list for MONTHS (and the first one I snatched out of the box when it arrived) is the excellent boys' love manga After We Gazed at the Starry Sky, vol.1 - releasing on August 22nd - and let me tell you, I SOBBED. This sweet slow-burn romance between a nature photographer named Tougo and a graphic designer named Subaru who yearns to travel the world is an excellent slice-of-life romance and I am elated that it's only the first volume. It's a sweet and honest story about living your dreams, satisfying wanderlust, and living life and falling in love as a disabled individual. This is a must read.


And, a surprise favorite of mine that swept me off my feet is the stunning print edition of the WEBTOON series Cuckoos Three by Mosskat and Cassandra Jean, which immediately captivate me in a way that I haven't experienced in some time. Also releasing on Aug. 22nd, this beautiful full color story about a kindhearted farmhand named Murry and his new neighbor, a city boy named Jacob, maneuvering the insanity of high school days and blossoming romance in a small town, is one of the most beautiful, raw, and tender romances I've ever had the pleasure of reading.

Solo Leveling vol.7

FAN-FAVORITE FACES

August has TONS of returning titles spanning several genres, so those of you patiently waiting to continue stories you've desperately missed can look forward to racing to the bookstore on the 22nd to pick up these excellent titles. A few notable ones to keep an eye out for are, of course, the fan favorite Solo Leveling, which will release its 7th vol. and take readers deep into the Jeju Island arc. And, for those of you looking for even more action, the second volume of the strange ARG bounty hunting series What This World Is Made Of is a fun newer sci-fi series with an excellent range of battles and great moments of dry comedy.


The excellent Yokohama Station SF vol.2 continues the crazy story of an ever evolving train tunnel system and, as always, Gonbe Shikawa's artwork is an absolute treat. Every Gonbe manga that Yen Press has released has been excellent, and Yokohama Station SF is a must-read for fans of speculative fiction that focuses more on the mystery than the action. And finally, the hit coming-of-age romcom Honey Lemon Soda's 3rd volume is just as adorable and addicting as the last and is one of my favorite summertime reads! I love the sense of hope that swells in me when I read this adorable shoujo series and the classic 90s anime aesthetic of the art makes it a stand out coming-of-age title that romance and comedy fans won't want to miss.


HAPPY HAUNTINGS!

No matter what the haters say, it's August which means it's officially spooky season and y'all, Yen Press is BRINGING it! We have two amazing new titles that are PERFECT for fans of Toilet-Bound Hanako-kun and I cannot recommend these titles enough. First off, we have Associate Professor Akira Takatsuki's Conjecture, which is perfect for readers who love folklore and the ways they can manifest in the modern age. The titular Professor feels like the weird love child of Bungo Stray Dogs' Dazai and Persona 5's Goro Akechi. This delightful tale of a ghost-crazy professor and his reluctant part-timer as they search for real life hauntings around Tokyo is a blast.

And, for those of you who want some morbidity in your titles and love that spooky-cute aesthetic that makes Toilet-Bound Hanako-kun so appealing, definitely check out the excellent The Illustrated Guide to Monster Girls - a manga with a title I'm still not sure how I'll be able to share on socials without getting flagged for inappropriate content. This quirky, combat-heavy title about monster girls is both creepy and cute, and it's not for the faint of heart but it's a must for anyone who loves a bit (okay, a lot) of macabre in their manga. Both titles are slated to release on August 29th!


FANTASTIC FANTASY

If you're wanting something unique with a bright cast and stunning artwork, look no further than Touge Oni: Primal Gods in Ancient Times which releases on the 22nd, which follows a priest named En the Layman as he travels between shrines with his assistants searching for divine favor from the old gods. This stunning, time-hopping fantasy series is a must for fans of JRPG and classic anime. Reading it instantly transported me back to the glory days of PS2 titles and Toonami anime where sprawling worlds and fantastic beasts reigned supreme.

The Reformation of the World as Overseen by a Realist Demon King, vol.1

OH MY, ISEKAI!

For my ridiculously titled isekai* pick of the month I have to go with The Reformation of the World as Overseen by a Realist Demon King, which is applause-worthy IMO even among the most tongue-twister titles out there. This story about a recently reincarnated man named Ast taking up the mantle of the seventy-second Demon King is way funnier than it has any right to be, and the tale of his attempted rise to power is thoroughly enjoyable. This title is out now (it released on the 1st) so go nab a copy if you're looking for more isekai goodness in your life!


WONDERFUL WEBTOONS

Aside from the release of the print edition of Cuckoos Three, Yen Press also released the first vol. of Now-Sew-Wicked Stepmom which is a sidesplitting isekai webtoon* that has a unique spin on the story of Snow White and was originally localized on Tapas for western audiences. I'm a huge sucker for any series that integrates artistic, crafty elements into the main narrative - as well as fairytale retellings, IYKYK - so the story of a wicked seamstress reborn as a fairytale princess' stepmother who finds herself sewing for her life to try and win over the young girl's approval is both funny and unique. Abigail, our clothing designer turned wicked stepmother, is a brilliant main character with a lot of charm and I was hooked from the moment I saw her punch a wall when she becomes overwhelmed with inspiration. Don't miss this one when it releases on the 22nd, it's charming AF.

 

The image(s) used in this article are from a comic strip, webcomic or the cover or interior of a comic book. The copyright for this image(s) is likely owned by either the publisher of the comic, the writer(s) and/or artist(s) who produced the comic. It is believed that the use of this image(s) qualifies as fair use under the United States copyright law. The image is used in a limited fashion in an educational manner in order to illustrate the points of the author and not for the purpose of entertainment or substituting the original work. It is believed the use of this image has had no impact on the market value of the original work. All images taken from the Google Books previews of the titles, provided by Yen Press.


All Yen Press characters and the distinctive likeness(es) thereof are trademarks of and copyright Yen Press or their respective owners. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED


*webtoon is the term used for scrolling digital comics originating from South Korea, not to be confused with the platform WEBTOON

*isekai is a massively popular genre where a normal human is reincarnated or transported into a magical world.


68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page