top of page

THE EFFECTS OFPICKLED HERRING Now in Comic Shops

Growing Up Can Be Stinky…


From the amazing indie comics writer and illustrator Alex Schumacher (The Unemployment Adventures of Aqualung, The World’s Crummiest Umbrella), comes a book that was 30 years in the making—the forthcoming YA graphic novel from Mango Press, THE EFFECTS OF PICKLED HERRING




With engaging illustrations that vividly bring the narrative to life, this poignant coming-of-age graphic novel about sibling dynamics and the enduring bonds of family.


As he and his sister Alana prepare for their B’nai Mitzvah, twelve-year-old Micah Gadsky and his whole family feel the world shifting beneath their feet when they learn a heartbreaking truth about his grandmother. The stress of the season leads Micah’s introspective nature and Alana’s outgoing disposition to collide, creating division and discord at a time when the family needs each other most. Before Micah can become a man, he must brave the storms of grief, confront the complexities of growing up, and ultimately, learn to lean on love when life trips him up.


“A heart-warming hoot that is full of laughs, heart and not the least bit fishy.”—Judd Winick (Hilo)







A perfect blend of humor and heart, this book explores self-worth, identity, and the challenges of supporting someone living with Alzheimer’s disease.  

Geared towards readers who enjoyed Liara Tamani’s Calling My Name or A First Time for Everything by Dan Santat, The Effects of Pickled Herring is now available in book shops and at your LCS!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page